Meditation for Beginners   Leave a comment

I am a beginner in meditation.  My quest began in 2009 by  reading about it.  In 2010 I made a decision to try it out. So far it has been one of the highlights of my spiritual journey. 

 Just mentioning meditation,  the 1st thought to comes to mind is someone sitting  indian style with their index finger and thumb touching in a circle, humming “om” over and over again.  That’s more associated with eastern meditation by Buddhists and Hindus although more and more westerners practice meditation this way.

For me meditation is a call to be silent, listening for God’s still voice.  It’s different from prayer when I’m doing more talking and much less listening.  Meditation is a time of discipline, to just sit, be still and listen.  I imagine that God and I are either sitting or walking hand in hand.  We smile at each other.   I have his full attention.  I feel happy, loved, peaceful  and secure.   I’m in his presence.

I start by putting a few drops of an essential oil in my palms, rub together, cup my hands together and breathe in slowly three times. I sit,  sometimes with palms open (receiving position).  I don’t chant a mantra or say a phrase over and over again in my mind, just sit in  silence. I listen to relaxing music which keeps my mind from wondering all over the place.  I like to do it 1st thing in the morning and before going to bed as a way to start and end my day. 

Two books that have been the most influential are Christian Meditation by James Finley and Centering Prayer by M. Basil Pennington.  I continue to read them over and over again for inspiration. My newest book is a book of prayers that I read before I start meditating,  Marianne Williamson’s Illuminata.  It took a while to find a way what works for me.  I still working on lengthening the time I meditate and keeping my mind centered.  It’s a challenge but so very worth it.

More on meditation in blogs to come…….

 

Posted February 18, 2011 by SunflowerHW in Meditation, Spirituality

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

