More on Meditation for Beginners: Silence, Quiet & Solitude   Leave a comment

I am a thinker.  I think more than I talk.  My mind is going all the time,   ideas,  dreams, fantasies, conversations,  thoughts, thoughts and more thoughts.  Not thinking has  never appealed to me. I’ve always wished I had more time to think.  I never dreamed I would enjoy just sitting, focusing my attention on God and not paying any attention to my thoughts.  Meditation is that to me.  A time to be still, silent, alone with God.  Let him have his time with me uninterrupted by my constant stream of thoughts.  It’s a discipline like any other and it takes practice. 

I have different ways of meditating.  Sometimes in the shower, I call it my water meditation.  Sometimes in the car, driving meditation, candle meditation, where I stare at the flame on a candle,  and then other times just sitting.  I make myself a receptacle.   If I’m sitting I start by putting an essential oil in my palm, breathing it in and taking a few seconds to bring attention to my breathing.  I take 3 very slow, deep breath with a pause in between.  I feel myself relax.  Then allow my mind to go blank, no thoughts.  All the while I’m listening to relaxing music.  I find that this helps me to keep my mind from wandering.  Sometimes  I do visualization and sometimes just a clear mind. In a crazy mixed up world,  meditation is a wonderful way to keep me sane.

Go placidly amid

the noise and haste,

and remember what peace

there may be in silence.

                          Desiderata

Posted February 23, 2011 by SunflowerHW in Meditation, Spirituality

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

